Dawn of 2014

L1000977

2013 has been a turbulent year. News of the USA’s NSA (and other governments) breaching the human right for privacy, creating an international scandal that is far from over. The Philippines got hit by Typhoon Haiyan, the Boston Marathon was ruined by the bombings, and there is the ongoing war in Syria. Science moving forward with photos of Saturn’s rings by Cassini, photos of hydrogen bonds and a dinosaur embryo’s bone, as well as more focus on global gender disparities. Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands abdicated the throne in favour of her son, and Nelson Mandela passed away at 95 years old. The Big Picture made wonderful (though sad) photo compilations; part I, part II, part III. Photography-wise, 2013 has been an alright year for me. I have taken more photographs this year than during previous years, plus posted at fairly regular intervals. NaPhoPoMo/NaBloPoMo was a fail, but a fun fail nonetheless. I had a blast working on my photography and my blog, and hope to keep it up throughout 2014.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

