No food like at Home

L1001450

“I don’t know what it is about food your mother makes for you, especially when it’s something that anyone can make – pancakes, meat loaf, tuna salad – but it carries a certain taste of memory.”
Mitch Albom

L1001444

“One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.”
Virginia Woolf, A Room of One’s Own

L1001479

Post also submitted to Weekly Photo Challenge: Change. For my loving parents to make a huge tasty meal out of a lot of ingredients whenever I come home, is indeed a change and a delightful one at that.

6 thoughts on “No food like at Home

    1. Our cooking won’t match theirs because a lot of the ingredients are not imported into Norway. Plus they make all that effort with all the parental love they have and it does make it taste better.

      1. Lovely post and a nice tribute to the loving kitchen of your beloved mother. I live abroad and I experience the same whenever I visit my mum in Fredrikstad. Last week I made fårikål for the first time for my English and German friends in Norofolk, UK. We all loved it. And of course, it tasted better the next day. 🙂

    1. Indeed.. A lot of the ingredients my parents use in cooking can’t be bought in Norway and I rarely travel home to the Netherlands, so I have become more appreciative of the amount of time they spend cooking for us. 🙂

Comments are closed.